Discover more about Nimmitabel
Police Station & Lock Up
Nimmitabel Police Station and Lock Up – Built in 1862 the police station consists of offices, a residence, a court house, two stone cells and a three horse stables.
Geldmacher House Circa 1863
Originally a general store, it was purchased by John Geldmacher in 1902. The remaining part of the general provision store and residence is now the Nimmitabel Heritage Museum Centre.
Lake Williams – Opened by Peter Cochran MP Member for Monaro on Australia Day 26th January 1994. This Lake and Park has been created by the New South Wales Department of Public Works, Cooma-Monaro Shire Council and the Lions Club of Nimmitabel for the benefit of the Nimmitabel Community. The name commemorates the contribution to many district organisations by members of the pioneer Williams family, descendants of John and Sarah Williams, who settled on this land in 1839.
The well is situated near the intersection of the highway and Bentley Street is the old town well. It was constructed of local basalt around 1900 and covered by timber planks. A windlass and bucket were used to raise the water. The well was used by townsfolk during times of drought.
Nimmitabel Heritage Trail
Discover the rich history of the village of Nimmitabel. The Heritage Trail Walk explores the township and can be completed in an hour, or can be broken into 10 to 20 minute walks.
The walk encompasses historic sites including Geldmacher House – circa 1863, the Town Well, Old Stone Mill – circa 1872, Uniting Church, Cenotaph, Pioneer Cemetery, Public School, Police Station and old Lock-Up, Royal Arms, local Churches and many other interesting features and buildings.
Old Mill Circa 1872
The Old Mill was built by John Geldmacher and designed to be wind driven. One of two mills of its kind left in Eastern Australia.